ICC awards 2017: Five contenders for ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award

The ICC (international cricket council) will announce the winners of ICC Awards in the upcoming days. The award ICC player of the year was last won by Quinton De Kock in 2016 for his exceptional performance throughout the year with the bat. The former winner along with Babar Azam, Faf du Plessis, and Jasprit Bumrah missed the cut for being nominated in top 5 contenders for the cricketer of the year award.
Let’s have a look at the top 5 (going down from 5) 

#5 Rohit Sharma
In the voting period, Rohit Sharma bagged 1,416 runs and is the only player out of the 5 to have scored more than 1000 runs in the voting period. Sharma has played 174 ODI’s with 6424 runs to his name, and average of 45.23, and strike-rate of 87.08. He has 3 hundreds, 3 double hundreds, and 9 half-centuries to his name.

#4 Rashid Khan
The leg spinner is the leading wicket-taker from during the voting period, and the second highest wicket-taker of 2017. The Afghani Spinner has bagged 50 wickets from just 19 matches during the voting period. The 19 years-old (or so) has an unbelievable 70 wickets from 32 matches.

#3 Hasan Ali
The main reason behind Pakistan’s 2017 triumph over the world, Hasan Ali, a 23-year-old fast bowled is undoubtfully one of the 5 contenders for the ICC player of the Year (ODI) award. During the voting period Hasan picked up 48 wickets from 32 matches. Overall Hasan has 56 wickets from 26 matches, and is currently ranked No. 1 bowler in the ICC ODI bowling rankings.

#2 Virat Kohli
A world-class batsman, or maybe out of the world, why would Kohli not be a contender for the ICC awards? A player who has broken so many records, and a real nightmare to bowlers.
During the voting period, Kohli scored 1,818 runs from 31 ODIs with 7 centuries and 9 fifties. Overall Kohli has scored 9030 runs from just 202 matches with an avg of 55.74.

#1 David Warner
The Australian Aggression. The giant has dominated the Australian batting line-up since the 2015 world cup. No way Warner would not be a contender for the ICC player of the year award. Warner played 22 ODI’s and grabbed 1,424 runs during the voting period. Overall Warner has 5901 runs from 69 matches with an average of 47.97.
With stats like that, Warner has a big chance of winning this years ICC ODI player of the Year Award.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.